Isle Of Jura founder Jura Soundsystem has announced the launch of a brand new compilation series. With vinyl due on June 1st and a digital release lined up for August 17th, the first instalment, a 13-track album entitled Transmission One, will span everything from dub, ambient and downtempo to boogie and proto-house.

Geared towards “music never before released on vinyl, sought after out of print titles and some special versions edited specifically for the album,” the new series signals a desire to release under-appreciated and gems alongside those sought-after reissues that have been the label’s primary focus. It isn’t the first time the Adelaide-based operation has looked to broaden its horizons either: 2018 has also seen the launch of Temples Of Jura, a new sub-label committed to releasing contemporary music.

Starring inclusions from Legowelt’s Smackos alias and PPU artist Mix-O-Rap, ‘ambient tools’ courtesy of Jura Soundsystem and hard-to-find material recorded by the likes of British multi-instrumentalist Trevor Bastow, the Enzo Minuti-helmed Minus Group and Simon Rees‘ ambient/dub project, Astral Engineering, it’s an undeniably intriguing project, both sonically and conceptually.

Transmission One is out soon on Jura Soundsystem – pre-order the vinyl here.


A1. Smackos – ‘We Can Watch Alf In The Hotel Room’
A2. Astral Engineering – ‘Seashore Dub’
A3. Minus Group – ‘Black Shadow’
B1. Ken Dang ‘Born In Borneo’ – (Jura Soundsystem Edit)
B2. Trevor Bastow – ‘Integration’
C1. Kash – ‘Percussion Sundance’
C2. Tabou Combo Superstars – ‘Ooh La La’ (Jura Soundsystem Edit)
D1. Blindboy – ‘Traumerei’
D2. Mix-O-Rap – ‘All Party People’ (Special Mix) (Go-Go Style)
D3. Jura Soundsystem – ‘Jungle Ambient Tool’
D4. Jura Soundsystem – ‘Ocean Ambient Tool’
D5. Jura Soundsystem – ‘Time Ambient Tool’
D6. Jura Soundsystem – ‘Pyramids Ambient Tool’

About The Author

Leave a Reply