Under the stewardship of Moscoman, Disco Halal has spent the last couple of years negotiating the fringes of modern electronic music, melding ethnic timbres with Western influences. Maintaining a high standard from their inaugural effort, releases had previously been available on vinyl exclusively, meaning much of the label’s back catalogue has been in high demand. This has prompted represses of some of the most illusive, probably setting the wheels in motion for the back catalogue to be made available digitally in full.

The announcement coincides with the unveiling of the label’s first compilation, Halal Collection. A pure distillation of the Disco Halal sound, afro-funk from the wonderful Tony Carey Project reissue (credited on the compilation as TCP) sits alongside Middle Eastern-flavoured electronics from Naduve and Autarkic, Simple Symmetry’s brooding tribal tones and an unreleased edit of Autarkic’s ‘How To Cheat,’ courtesy of Red Axes.


  1. Autarkic – Asi Keta Ga
  2. TCP – Dynamic Energy (Moscoman Remix)
  3. Naduve – 10K From Essaouira
  4. TCP – Twonga
  5. Red Axes + Mosocman + Krikor – Subaru Pesha (Red Axes Remix)
  6. Simple Symmetry – Voodoo Your Ex
  7. Simple Symmetry – Plane Goes East (Dj Tennis Remix)
  8. Autarkic – Solo Gun
  9. Naduve – Ready Set Go
  10. Red Axes + Mosocman + Krikor – Subaru Pesha
  11. Autarkic – How To Cheat (Red Axes Edit)

Halal Collection is out September 8th – pre-order here.

About The Author

Leave a Reply